IE6 - re-enable "About to view over a secure connection" message

I inadvertently checked the "Do not show me this message again" box, 
but, as I like to know when I am being re-directed to or from a secure 
site, I would like to re-enable it.  Is is possible, please?

Kate

0
Kate
1/16/2010 6:47:14 PM
internetexplorer.general 1684 articles. 0 followers. Follow

1 Replies
1193 Views

Similar Articles

[PageSpeed] 35

Kate wrote:

> I inadvertently checked the "Do not show me this message again" box, 
> but, as I like to know when I am being re-directed to or from a secure 
> site, I would like to re-enable it.  Is is possible, please?

Have you looked at the settings for the security zone (probably the Internet
security zone) under which the unidentified web site you are visiting is
getting rendered?

My guess, and without a correct and exact copy of the prompt message, is
that you are visiting sites that contain mixed secure and insecure content.
You expect to be on a secure page but some of the content is not secured.
Well, think about it.  If any part of the page is not secure than that page
is NOT secure despite some of it is.  Not ALL secure means INSECURE.

Display mixed content

That option decides whether you will be prompted when there is mixed content
(secure + insecure).  You can disable showing any insecure content without
the nuisance of a prompt (which would be the checkbox you selected).  Always
enabling the mixed content means you don't get prompted (warned) when there
is insecure content on a page where https was used to navigate to that page.
If you want to be safe, you set this option to Disable.  That eliminates any
insecure content on a secure web page and you don't get nuisanced with a
prompt to warn you about it.  If the page doesn't render fully, well, bitch
to the site that they are mixing secure and insecure content on what was
supposed to be a secure web page.  It's up to you if you want to lower
security in your web browser for all sites just because one or a few of them
screwed up (usually with ads that they proliferate from other domains
through their web page rather than funnel them through their own server).

You configured the mixed content option to Prompt (its default setting) but
obviously the penchant of users would be to say Yes to the prompt to allow
the mixed content - which means that supposedly secure page is no longer
secure (but the users aren't told that).  Getting the prompt ends up a
superfluous prompt that is merely a nuisance because users are going to okay
the rendering of the mixed content page.

You could add the problematic site(s) into your Trusted Sites security zone
(assuming that zone is configured for Enable on the mixed content option
rather than Prompt); however, if you expect a web page to be secure but is
is not (due to any insecure content), would you really trust them?
0
VanguardLH
1/16/2010 7:11:21 PM
Reply:

Similar Artilces: